she's a threadhead

FOR HOLDEN

Oh my. What a whirlwind of a time I’ve been having! After working my tail off for a company for the past few months, this weekend I was unceremoniously let go. It’s rather heartbreaking – I loved working there, loved the staff. But, the management made their choices and because I’ve been working as a “casual employee” I have no rights. It’s a total bummer. But, luckily, I’ve been able to console myself with my embroidery.

And LUCKILY LUCKILY, this city is filled with beautiful people, who love handmade things. One of whom, commissioned a birth chart similar to the one that I made my goddaughter.

IMG_2312

This birth chart was made using both cross stitch and back stitches, taken legally from a variety of online resources. IMG_2311

The canvas used was 18 count Aida in Navy, purchased from Maria at Stitch-It Central. The thread used was DMC Ecru purchased in-store from EweKnit in Toronto, Ontario.

IMG_2310

Similar to the previous birth chart I’ve made, the information include the child’s name, birth date, height and weight at the time of birth. As well, I included the weekday rhyme from A. E. Bray’s Traditions of Devonshire and the star sign, month’s flower and stone as well as the designation in the Chinese Zodiac.

IMG_2307The creatures included in this birth chart are little owls perched on a branch, sparrows swooping down in flight and busy little hummingbirds. I thoroughly enjoyed stitching the sparrows and hummingbirds, although I found the owls quite taxing and the visual effect was not as pleasing as I hoped. I doubt I will reuse the motif in the future.

IMG_2295

Similar to the previous birth chart I made, this piece was hand sewn over two dowels. This method is very effective for larger wall hangings.

Please let me know what you think – particularly about the owls! The customer was more than pleased, but he doesn’t know needlework like you folks do! 

If you’re interested in commissioning your own birth chart, send me a message using the “Contact” page. My rate for the custom design & execution of these birth charts is very reasonable! 

OK – I’m back to filling out job applications, joy.

6 Comments on “FOR HOLDEN”

  1. blah to work management (they clearly are knobs) but yay for the stitching! It looks great, altho like you, I am not sure about the owls. Great colour choice.

  2. Maia T. says:

    The owls are nearly there; I think it’s the shape of the tops of their heads that feels off. They should look more pointy, like tufts; the roundness makes me think of frogs more for some reason. But overall, this came out really nice.

  3. sultanabun says:

    Lovely stitching. Good luck with the job hunt.

  4. Mrs P says:

    I’m soo sorry to hear that you have job worries, I hope you find employment soon – now lets talk about the serious stuff….your needlework is divine, I think it’s exquisite 🙂

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    Good luck with the job hunt, nice stitching.

  6. That’s beautiful and a really lovely idea!! Do you have a pattern for the birds at all? 🙂


Leave a Reply

