she's a threadhead

UPDATE

It’s been an absurdly long time since I have shared progress on my stupidly large project. The piece involves 162, 500 stitches in over 50 colours. In order to not be burned out (and have this blahg be certifiably boring) I’m embracing the fact that this project will be with me for a long time.

IMG_2261

It may not look like much, because it certainly does not feel like much. With all the white empty space looming beside my individual stitches, it is quite easy to be intimidated. I’ve been beating that monster down by attempting to dedicate an hour of stitching time a day to this specific piece. It’s not going so well, I’ve clocked 17 hours on it since September 1st. But, tracking my hours has forced me to be more conscious of my creative endeavours.

IMG_2267

I must admit I do love taking pictures of this piece because it lets me truly see the image emerge.

IMG_1919

And in comparison to the photo from the last time I posted, it looks like I’ve made a huge dent. And my photography skillz have improved too!

How are your big projects coming along? Any tricks for keepin’ the flames burnin’ over the long haul?

12 Comments on “UPDATE”

  1. Taking breaks from my bigger projects helps me to keep going. Otherwise I either a) get bored, or b) get burnt out.

    I need a change every once in a while. A break where I can rest my eyes, then come back and actually appreciate the progress I’ve made rather than focusing on how much further I still have to go.

    • eadouglas says:

      I work in tandem with a couple projects on the go at the same time. And I find taking breaks just makes me feel guilty! But I do think it’s important to emphasize how far you’ve come instead of how much there is left to do.

  2. My carrot is the progress photo. I use instagram for that, those likes keep me going

    • eadouglas says:

      Oh man, Instagram is hands down my favourite app. I love seeing into different people’s lives and what they’re working on. I try not to post too many embroidery projects though, because my non-crafty friends get real bored of it. Maybe I should start doing blog posts about this project more regularly? Or would that make me boring??

      • I do WIP Wednesday. People who follow me for other things can glaze over it. But I’m making myself accountable to have some progress to show! My blog and my instagram are about me and primarily for me. If I’m boring so be it!

      • eadouglas says:

        Haha, I don’t think you’re boring! I just wonder if I’d be boring if I always talked about the same project. If this beast is going to take five more years I better start coming up with clever things to say about it!

  3. jaybeejay says:

    That is an ambitious, gorgeous project! I definitely have to take breaks during my bigger projects. I’ll stitch up something simple and quick to have that sense of accomplishment!

    • eadouglas says:

      Haha, I do work on other projects at the same time, so not all of my creative energy is spent on this guy. I also consider going to my job as a break from stitching!

  4. I agree with Paulainaukland, I find that posting progress photos on my blog really helps to keep me going as I always show it side by side with the last progress photo and I am always amazed by how much I’ve done sine last time and it’s a great way to see the piece take shape.

    Keep going with it, it’s looking great, – just think how great you’ll feel when it’s complete!

  5. Thanks for poppin’ in and reading my blog. I admire your needlework! I don’t have the patience required to do something so complex! I always say, do what you enjoy! For me, it is quilting and that is where I will focus.


Leave a Reply

