she's a threadhead

LAST LINKS OF SUMMER

Although douglust.com has been on haitus, I still managed to pull together a few threadhead delights for the end of summer.

I’m really glad to be out in the working world, but I’m still sort of pissed off that my guidance counsellors never told me that I could get a degree in stitchin’, so, I feel very lucky to have stumbled upon this insightful look into the Royal School of Needlework. It’s a little outdated, but nice for those of us on the wrong side of the pond.

While I was working in the working world this summer, I was very lucky to receive the opportunity to view the ¡Viva México! Clothing and Culture exhibit at the Royal Ontario Museum. I took my kiddos there one rainy day, and it was the highlight of our trip. I personally appreciated the samples of beautiful 18th century embroidery and they were enthralled with the videos demonstrating the use of cochineal in dye processes. If you’re also on the wrong side of the pond, and close to Toronto before May 2016 – you should certainly make an effort to go and see it. The exhibition is included in the cost of visiting the Museum & on Tuesdays it’s free for Canadian post-secondary students.

Before I started working like crazy, I had a couple days to myself. I seized the opportunity to work on my commission, to hang out with a cute boy, and to visit the Textile Museum of Canada and see the exhibit Artist Textiles: Picasso to Warhol. It was pretty cool seeing some of Andy’s fabric prints in person, I enjoyed finding out about underappreciated female textile designers that fleshed out this historic time in the art world, such as the Folly Cove Designers and Zandra Rhodes. This exhibit is very inspiring, and I hope to go back with my sketchbook to capture some of the magic, as photography is forbidden. Although I’m not sure if that will happen as it closes the 4th of October!

If you’re not in London or Toronto, you can still avoid getting a cramps from winding all those bobbins by trying this new method of wrapping string around plastic cards. I would give it a shot, but… I don’t own a drill?

Have a great weekend!

6 Comments on “LAST LINKS OF SUMMER”

  1. Hello from the other side of the pond! Hampton Court is an amazing place, although when I visited the school was disappointingly closed! I really enjoyed the video thanks for sharing!

    • eadouglas says:

      That’s so disappointing! I keep meaning to go every time I visit London, but I can never fit it in. Maybe I’ll save my loonies and one day just take a class there.

  2. I really enjoyed the video too… My mum actually nearly did her degree at the RSN after she left school, but she ended up staying closer to home. It looks fascinating though, I must try to visit next time I’m in London! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Waffu says:

    Love that link for easier way to winding bobbins. I’m too lazy to put all that together, but I’ve faved the page because it looks sooooo much easier than just doing it by hand. Faster too! Thanks (^_^).


Leave a Reply

