she's a threadhead

STUFFIE

A few weeks ago I posted about the need to be spontaneous, while still being a productive crafter who accomplishes goals. Last week, I was able to squeeze in a small spontaneous project. I am so glad that I did!

IMG_2030

Since being a threadhead does not pay the bills, I spend my days with a variety of young children. My time is filled with afternoons in the sunshine, lots of jokes that don’t make sense and there’s a high volume of adorable drawings, which are always inspiring.

After seeing one of my kiddo’s pictures of a unicorn. I knew that I could make her the perfect birthday present in just a few days.

Here’s the original drawing:
IMG_20150506_172415

Clearly this creature’s “party hat” is it’s unicorn’s horn.

My original plan involved hand embroidering the entire creature, however that proved to be a large task and I wanted to complete this project quickly. So, I chose to use fabric markers from my local art supply store.

IMG_1978

I was slightly disappointed because the colouring did not reflect the child’s original drawing precisely. I wish that I had experimented more with this new medium before I started the project. But, I was hurrying to get it done, and I’m looking forward to exploring fabric markers more in the future.

IMG_1969

Not wanting to dismiss my love of hand-stitching completely, I embroidered the pattern from the horn on the little creature’s head.

IMG_2020

This little fellow was made on a recycled dress shirt, a scrap from the one that I used to back Sarah’s pillow last year. The stuffing that I used was also scraps. I cut up a remnant of a t-shirt used in my rag-rug and and filled it up.

IMG_2042

It’s a strange feeling seeing something you’ve made in someone else’s home. But, I’ll totally adjust. When the little lady opened her gift she said, “Why would you think I might not like it? I LOVE it.”

11 Comments on “STUFFIE”

  1. yarnya says:

    Aww what a lovely idea.

  2. I love it! It is so nice to receive a handmade gift that always mean so much more than something bought. The fact that you used her own drawing to make it is just brilliant 🙂

  3. pen2needle says:

    That is so adorable. What a precious memory you have created! 🙂

  4. mstrsscat says:

    This is gorgeous! Great idea, thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Crazyqstitcher says:

    So cute. How pleasing to have the little one express her pleasure in the gift.

  6. Artnunymiss says:

    I love this! I saw a Korean photographer who set up live action photos of drawings made by kids. They were so wonderful.


Leave a Reply

