she's a threadhead

WIP – SMALL MATTERS

I am a collector. I hold on to ticket stubs and scraps of paper in notebooks, I stack abandoned craft supplies along the wall in my room, I still own jewelry that was given to me when I was six. But more than these material items, I delight in amassing quotes.

And lately, I’ve been comin’ across some good ones. While I’m not exactly sure what to do with all these solid little sayings… I have a project in the works for one of them.

IMG_1818
Not too long ago I shared this Thoreau poem and I expected that that would be the end of it. Until, I came across this table napkin in my stash, and the colourful grid sang out to me.

IMG_1818
Copying the statement with a fabric marker, I have began to stitch it out. I am really enjoying using up a bit of “unknown” thread from stash box.

There’s a potential bigger scheme ahead for this piece when it’s finished, but we’ll see how it all comes out in the wash, especially that fabric marker!

What’s your favourite quote? Do you have any special sayings stitched up?

15 Comments on “WIP – SMALL MATTERS”

  1. me1an says:

    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”
    ― Edmund Burke. This has always been a favorite but lately has really come to be something I try to live up to.

    • eadouglas says:

      Oh man, I love this quote. I have certainly been feeling a similar sentiment lately, particularly in relation to the fast fashion industry and how things are made. I think it’s linked because I identify as a maker, and it hurts to think that people’s ability to create is being abused by the industry… Anyway, this quote totally applies because pretty much all of North America are good people doing nothing.

  2. thegreytail says:

    I have many, and for a long time I debated on how to showcase them best.
    I think you just started something here, I have big plans for 2016! 🙌🏻

    • eadouglas says:

      Haha, 2016? Lemme get through 2015, then we can start making plans for next year.

      • thegreytail says:

        yeah, good point! 😆 but 2015 is already too packed with stuff to add this too so.. 😜

      • eadouglas says:

        Do you have a long list of everything you want to accomplish in the year? I was thinking about this yesterday, because I have so many ideas in my head and I want to make them a reality, but it also needs to remain manageable so I don’t burn out… What’s your technique?

      • thegreytail says:

        I have yearly goals and monthly goals, but I keep on adding more stuff than I cross out! 😬 you can see them in my blog, this month for instance is INSANE. if I make it I should get a reward! 😜😂

  3. I use Pinterest a lot. Print out saved ones that I really, really like and also have some themed around my One Little Word, which this year is Serenity.

    • eadouglas says:

      I loathe Pinterest, but it is neat that you print them out… What do you do with the print outs? Serenity is a solid word choice, if I had to pick a word for this year it would probably be “hustle” because I have a so many goals to fulfill.

  4. Oh that sounds like me! I just discovered a receipt my Dad kept from my ballet lesson and another for ballet tights back from 1974! I also have the cutest big broach with 3 piglets dangling on it from when I was little. If the house was on fire I would rescue them!

    • eadouglas says:

      Haha, I don’t know if I would go that far. But it’s nice holding onto things, I have some ticket stubs from shows I went to when I first moved to Toronto. It’s nice pulling my scrap book out when friends are over, like charting our shared history on a map.

    • eadouglas says:

      Haha, I don’t know if I would go that far. However, I love when friends are over and we pull out my scrap books (just pretty notebooks with ephemera glued in, no foam stickers here) and we can chart our lives like a map, going from moment to moment. It’s a good way to see how far we’ve come.

  5. […] I said before, I have big plans for this little guy. But, they will have to wait until I get a day […]


Leave a Reply

