she's a threadhead

THREE HUNDRED

Something very magical has been happening here at douglust over the past few days.

I know it’s been coming for a while now, ever since January really, but I honestly still did not expect it to really happen.

Last week douglust reached over 300 followers. Yay!

Screen Shot 2015-04-24 at 12.47.10 AM

I realize that this might be quite trivial to some bloggers who have thousands of followers, but as I’ve said before this little blahg was started on a whim, and it is my home on the Internet. After I decided to immortalize this moment in one of my infamous collages, I thought it would be best to give back to my lovely supporters with a giveaway.

I grabbed this gem at a thrift shop long ago, and I think I knew all along that it was meant for greatness.

IMG_1772
Crafty Cats is “features over fifteen stylish cat designs for readers to create and enjoy for years to come… each fun project is accompanied by a colorful series of photographs, patterns and detailed instructions.”

catmobile
This Crazy Cat Mobile is just one of the projects you could make! Or, you could make a Sophisticat Cushion, a Literary Cats cross stitch sampler, or a knitted SNUGGLEPUSS SWEATER. It’s truly astounding the projects included in this book, and as a faithful follower, you’re half way to having it.

SO! If you want to win this copy of Crafty Cats by HP Books. Simply follow douglust.com (via wordpress OR email, either is acceptable!) and leave a comment with your favorite cat name, real life or fake on the bottom of this post. Personally, I really like Chester.

The contest will end on May 31, 2015, and I will announce the winner on June 5, 2015. It is open to anyone and everyone, from my roommates to international folks. I really don’t mind paying the shipping.

Have a great weekend!

16 Comments on “THREE HUNDRED”

  1. Carol says:

    My favorite cat name? Why, Carol, of course 🙂

  2. My fav cat name is Mr Bear ❤ Thanks for the giveaway

  3. Alana says:

    My favourite cat name is Mephistopheles.

  4. We had a vocal tonkinese called Raul. At least that’s what he told us!

  5. Mrs P says:

    WOW what a give away,Neurotic Cat sends her love … PS that is not her real name just an alias she trawls the internet under LOL

  6. My friend’s cat was called Steve – that appealed to me (the name not the cat). Congratulations!

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    First cat in my life was called Eric so that’s what I will go with. Many congratulations on your 300.

  8. thegreytail says:

    oh my, if I was a religious person this would be Baby Jesus’ Diary!
    my cat’s name’s Basil, after Basil Rathbone, and his nickname is Baba (hence his theme song, Baba O’Riley). his full title is in Italian but it sounds something like this in English: Little Lord Grasshopper of Nearwater.
    if I had a red cat too I’d probably call him Pedro and attach 13-16 Spanish names and surnames to it, like Señor Juan Pedro Gutierrez Navarro de la Infanta Madre de Dios Santo Y Catalan Bascos.

  9. thegreytail says:

    and of course, congratulations! the sight of that book made me forget everything else. 😛

  10. I WANT THAT BOOK. My favorite cat, and cat name, is Lil Bub. She is famous, so maybe that is cheating, but she is magical.

  11. Back in the 70’s I found a very ugly tiny kitten in a box by the road. I had to give it a name that was beautiful. At the time a russian model was visiting Australia by the name of Veruschka so my gorgeous, very ugly cat, was called RUSHKA. Loved her to peices.

  12. Congratulations for your 300 followers! Me included, of course! 🙂 And thank you for being the first to follow mine!
    Now, as for my favorite cat name…
    When I was around 7-8 years old, I had a cat named Pinóquio (Pinocchio, in English) and he was much loved by me and my family.
    Sometimes, when I wanted to call him, I used to say “Anda cá, Pinochet, pinoche tudo”, which is something like “Come here, Pinochet, pinoche everything”. At that time, I didn’t have the notion who Pinochet was, it as just a name that I’ve heard constantly in the news and I just thought that it sounded like Pinocchio.
    Because of that, even today I relate the name “Pinochet” to my cat’s memory, rather than a dictator.

  13. If I had a cat I would name him Archibald. For some reason, aristocratic names seem to fit cats really well (at least for my taste).

  14. yarnya says:

    Congrats on the 300 followers! 😀 Picasso is my favourite cat name, because he’s the cat I grew up with and he is the most adorable cat … even when he brings us dead birds as presents …

  15. tfastitchin says:

    Congratulations on 300 followers! I will be happy when I get my first 10 followers! LOL

    My favorite cat’s name was Lilly.

  16. […] this week I took a few moments to find a winner to my 300 followers giveaway, and the answer is -> lucky […]


Leave a Reply

