she's a threadhead

STAY HOME CLUB

AA004

 Untitled – E.A. Douglas, 2014

Image taken using a Lubitel 2, on Lomography 120 film in Barry’s Bay, Ontario.

Guys, it’s really cold outside. Too cold, really. I just got back from coffee with my friend Corey and my hands are so numb it’s difficult to type. I’m going to commit myself to my bedroom and my stitching with my space heater for the next couple hours, and I encourage the rest of you to do the same!

If you’re stuck in that Facebook-Wordpress-Instagram infinite loop of social media, here’s a few links which might tickle your fancy.

You could read this spot-on opinion piece from Wired on how Etsy is starting to smell like the inside of a Wal-Mart.

Or, you could watch this video of my hero (and fake namesake) Erica Wilson stitching an owl.

You might also want to listen to this super awesome, early release of The Mountain Goats new song, in anticipation of their album coming out in March. Trust me, I’m not a fan of pro-wrestling, but this tune will have you away from your computer and shaking your hips in no time.

Or you could buckle down and make a delicious pavlova which is all I’ve been able to think about since I had some at a dinner party last weekend.

If you do read that first piece, tell me what you think! I’ve been hemming and hawing about starting an online store as a way to gain support for this little hole in the internet and my first choice was going to be Etsy. But, as an individual who has been attempting to incorporate less corporate choices into my life – I’m looking elsewhere.

Do you have an online shop? What role does it play in your creative life? How does it really make you feel?

6 Comments on “STAY HOME CLUB”

  1. No comment on the links–but it is so, so miserably cold this winter.

    • eadouglas says:

      It’s been crazy! I feel like every morning my Mother is calling long-distance to tell me it’s going to be the coldest day of the year. As terrible as it’s been for my social life, I love all the me-time!

  2. Stitch Boom Bang says:

    I started my Etsy last May. In some ways it is really gratifying. I think it has helped me grow creatively. As for Etsy itself, I have read the article, and there is truth to it. But I still think it is a good place to start, especially for people who won’t ever quit their day jobs. I have learned the ropes of online sales with an established site, which I can take anywhere if I so choose. If you seek the authenticity of craft and don’t want to compromise your ethic, I suggest doing a local market or fair. It’s really the best forum for makers, in my opinion, because you can interact and get out from behind your screen.

    • eadouglas says:

      Thanks for your comment! I’m glad this article can be used to facilitate a discussion, if anything.

      I understand that Etsy can be a good place to learn how to work an online shop, which is a whole different realm of being a crafter. But, it does bum me out that they allow shops to sell things that the owners did not make from scratch – it’s totally against the idea of an “online marketplace.” Particularly because it means that individuals wanting to sell their creations have to lower their prices in order to compete with larger sellers. I’m the last person to think she’ll be able to sustain herself on crafts, but I strongly feel that Etsy should have some respect for the community it is dependent on.

      As for the local craft fair idea, that’s a really good suggestion, and I hope that my readers living in small communities look for opportunities to sell their wares on a face-to-face level. But honestly, it’s not an option for me as I live in a large city and all of the craft fairs that I’ve attended here feature loads of established artists & makers. I’d feel really awkward sitting in a booth next to someone who considers themselves a professional. But, maybe that’s just me?

      • Stitch Boom Bang says:

        Yes, on a certain level, Etsy sucks. Much like other mega corps – facebook, google, whatever – everyone sells out after a certain point. Etsy is not what it used to be, and that’s too bad for everyone- sellers and buyers.

        As for local markets, you’d be surprised. I did my first market last August, and I felt completely weird, out of my element, and in over my head. Still, I brought in a lot of cash that day, and it’s just a matter of putting yourself out there. As I mentioned, it’s a lot easier to hide behind a screen and wait for people to seek you out online. In person, you have to interact, stand by what you make, and it’s really hard (and scary)! It’s not a matter of who is established, it is a matter of taking that risk and conquering that fear, and yes, perhaps failing or stumbling along the way.

        Whatever you decide, I wish you the best of luck! And if I can ever be of help to you, don’t hesitate to reach out. As I said, I’ve only been at this for less than a year, but I truly believe in the DIY movement, and I support any makers out there, no matter what they are making or how they are doing it. My only advice is to do something, anything! Challenge yourself in every capacity, as that is what DIY is really about. xoxoxxoxox

  3. thegreytail says:

    hey! I followed a few of the links and must say, Erica Wilson has jumped right on top of my favourite people in the world shortlist. now I need some raw fabric, wools and a giant needle.
    as for Etsy, I looked into how it works even before purchasing from small crafters there, I needed to know if I was supporting them rather than the big orange E behind them. well, I must say I’m not too pleased with the way it works for sellers, and as a buyer I’m so frustrated by the amount of cheap, un-crafty, non-handmade crap that looks the same no matter who’s selling it, that I still have a very few shops on my Favourite list, and if they have a website/blogcartel/etc. I rather purchase from there.
    these days Etsy is good for visibility, especially if you just started, but I don’t like the way things are going since it became so big, letting pretty much everyone in.
    the article on Wired confirmed my feelings and thoughts about it, so all in all I think I wouldn’t open a shop there, or if I would that wouldn’t be my only selling option, rather a shop window – which if you think about it is the exact opposite crafters should expect from Etsy; if we wanted our stuff seen & sold to masses, we would be opening shops in malls.


Leave a Reply

