she's a threadhead

HEADER

I feel like I’ve been going about things totally backwards.

IMG_1603

Most people start blogging when they want to draw attention to their products or online shop. Having a weblog is just another form of social media, another check at the end of a very long list of ways to promote yourself on the internets. I started writing these posts as way to keep myself experimental, to have somewhere to share my creations and force myself to bring something to the table twice a week.

As this little journey has been expanding, I’ve put some thought into which direction I would like to head in. While mostly the path seems unclear, focusing more on needlework is a must. Stitching has always been a pleasant experience for me, it keeps me sane in times of anxiety and allows me to feel productive. It’s an untreasured art in these high speed times.

That’s why I’m pretty thrilled that I’ve accomplished a significant goal – to embroider a visual header for this site. It took less than a week to make, including some overly frustrating stitch-ripping when I altered the plan in the middle, but if you scroll to the top of this page, you’ll see it beaming there, in all of it’s titled glory.

How about you? Where’s your blogging adventure headed? And what are some signposts that you’ve established along the way?

13 Comments on “HEADER”

  1. My blogging adventure begins with me posting weekly and contributing every 2 months to other websites. Funny enough, in 2014 I was asked to do an internet TV show but it fell through, so who knows what other opportunities will arise.

  2. CraftyStaci says:

    Your header is lovely! I started without a plan, but I’m about to celebrate my 5th anniversary next month. I’m much more organized now, and I feel like I’m meeting my goals. I hope your successes continue!

  3. Love the header! I find blogging keeps me on track and in touch with other makers. I didn’t expect it to be such a “community”, but that is the aspect of it that I most enjoy.

  4. Amanda G says:

    I love your header as well! I only just started but I came primarily looking for the community. Not many people I know really “get” embroidery as a hobby, so I really want a space to share my work and be inspired by others’.

  5. I like the use of negative space, but I think it would have been more polished looking on an evenweave- Aida always looks a bit amateurish

    • eadouglas says:

      I understand what you mean, I have some linen that I’ve been meaning to give a try. Though I feel like it’s a big leap!

  6. Ginny says:

    Your header is fabulous!! If I ever switch my blog theme that has a header, (and I have been thinking about it just this morning) I would like to stitch my own header. A very cool idea. I started my blog about 3 years ago, as a place to document my stitchings and share with others. I too agree that stitching calms, relaxes and keeps me sane. I get really cranky when I don’t get to stitch. I have met a lot of wonderful stitchers along the way as well as some wonderful designers. I can’t imagine not having a blog now.

  7. That’s a nicely done header. A handmade header has been on my to-do list for years, but I can never come up with a design I like! I particularly like the blackwork pattern you used in the background.

    If you like the ease of using aida but want something that looks a bit less aida-ish, there’s a store in Port Credit (Gitta’s petit point) that sells hand-dyed aida cloth. Super pretty, lots of colours, and the variations of colour in the fabric disguise the grid-ness of it. Just a thought. I know what opus is getting at, but sometimes, aida is just what works. I’ve tried blackwork on linen, and it’s never as even as advertised!


Leave a Reply

