she's a threadhead

FOR ELIZABETH

In the fashion of a modern Christmas miracle, I finished my biggest project of the year – the Christmas stocking – with several days to spare.

IMG_1546
While I am not an overly experienced seamstress, I found the construction of the physical stocking to be doable with a fair bit of stitch ripping, and multiple deep breath sessions.

FORELIZABETH.jpg
One of the best tricks that I figured out was when it came to developing the pattern for the back of the stocking. Instead of photocopying the template from the book and blowing it up (Which involves using photocopiers as if it were 1995?), I placed a piece of parchment paper over the embroidered work and created an outline, then I used the outline as a pattern. The stocking is also fully lined, and I even made a label!

IMG_1540

Overall, I am so thrilled with how this stocking turned out. Time wise it took me a very dedicated 8 weeks to complete, but, it was worth each and every late night, when I was able to share this gift with some very dear friends. (And I made Elizabeth’s Momma cry!)

10171164_705479324932_6781409045917501647_n

This is Elizabeth in her 1st Christmas outfit, with her Christmas stocking. This picture was taken by Sarah Newhouse and used with permission. If you’re interested in commissioning a holiday stocking for next year, please use the Contact page – I’d be more than interested!

8 Comments on “FOR ELIZABETH”

  1. Ginny says:

    Beautiful stocking! And a cute little girl.

  2. What a beautiful stocking, one that will be cherished for years to come. She’s a beautiful little girl. Well done for making your own template, it was a spark of genius!

  3. […] happened in October, I had to take a break from this project to focus all of my creative energy on Elizabeth’s stocking. In January, I finally finished the whole canvas and sewed it […]

  4. […] a slightly different method. When I’m at home, I generally dedicate all of my craft time to a single large project. Occasionally, I might work on multiple small projects and shift my attention whenever I start to […]

  5. crocheticipation says:

    Something for her to treasure always. It’s beautiful!

  6. […] In light of the recent news about Michael’s, I thought now was as best of time as any to share my recent experience of 123Stitch.com. I did a similar review of DeSerres, when I ordered thread for my first Christmas stocking. […]


Leave a Reply

