she's a threadhead

UNINTENTIONAL PORTRAITS

As the year begins to come to a close, I’ve been thinking a lot about the folks in my life who inspire me. Yesterday, when I was walking down the street carrying a very expensive bag of yarn and a vintage sewing case which was found on the sidewalk, it struck me how much my life reflects one that I want for myself. I don’t make a lot of money, but I do have a lot of great friends, who help me out when times are hard, warm my living room and my heart, and drive me to be creative everyday, if only to have something to show for myself.

Early last year I was at a bar, when a cute stranger asked, “Who are you in the scene?” The question has stuck with me for months. Unlike most folks in town, I’m not driven to be somebody, I am more than content to spend nights laying low, but only because it gives me time that I prioritize – time to create. Still, I have a lot of respect for all the people out there who are pushing their work and themselves. So, over the next few weeks I will be sharing with you my Unintentional Portraits of Folks Who Inspire Me. A series of snapshots from my film photography collection.

AA009

Rebeccah, In Shadow – E.A. Douglas, 2014
(Image taken using a Lubitel 2, on Lomography Earl Grey 120 film, in Irondale, Ontario.)

Rebeccah Love is no stranger to douglust. She’d probably win the award for Friend-That-I-Talk-About-Most-On-My-Blog. I swear there’s a reason! Rebeccah inspires me because she is always working on something – she’s one of those people who boredom doesn’t seem to touch. (Although Rebeccah is very humble and would probably laugh, look down and say thank-you if I was to tell her these things in person.) This year Rebeccah blew me away by putting together her thesis film Abacus, My LoveA short film which revolves around a seamstress locked away in a tower until she can find the last bead of her father’s abacus. While Rebeccah herself raised the issue of the need for a feminist lens in her work, the film is still an excellent story -one which makes me laugh and swoon. Being around Rebeccah makes creativity infectious.

For more information on Rebeccah’s filmmaking, check out her website – http://www.rlovearts.ca

One Comment on “UNINTENTIONAL PORTRAITS”

  1. […] the series of Unintentional Portraits of Folks Who Inspire Me, I was lucky to find this photograph on a roll of film which was recently […]


Leave a Reply

