she's a threadhead

DESERRES

I solemnly swear that this post has not been paid for. (But if you want to pay me for it, feel free.) 

For as long as I’ve been blogging, I’ve been looking for a convenient way to buy embroidery floss. While I do have a large collection of threads built up from the years of being a charity case, I have struggled to find a stockist who has all the colours I need for a large project. Particularly projects that follow other people’s patterns, which can include detailed shading and tones.

Listen up Canadians because this problem will plague you no longer! 

DeSerres is a Canadian art-supply store, and last Sunday I discovered they sell embroidery thread. I was super stoked at the time, because my bestie & her baby live down the street from a large DeSerres, so I can shop their frequently. However, I did some clicking and I found out that they also sell embroidery floss online, with free shipping over $25.

 

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 12.14.51 PM

This is actually uh-mazing. As later that night, from the comfort of my bed, I ordered the 30 shades of thread that I need to complete a big Christmas project!

After clicking the “View All Colours” box, in the middle of the page, I then used the Command + F function, also known as “Find”, to quickly search out the specific shades I needed. Just typing in the DMC # works efficiently, the last three numbers of the item are the proper colour code.

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 12.22.30 PM

As they are priced at $0.69 each (which is slightly cheaper than that-place-I-know-that-sells-floss-on-Queen-Street-West) my order of 30 cotton floss came to slightly under $21, leaving me ineligible for free shipping. However, I needed some glue sticks for my glue gun, so I added a $4.99 pack and boom, I qualified for the free shipping in Ontario & Quebec.

Then, on Thursday, my lovely package arrived.

IMG_1463

(Sorry for the poor quality, I was way too excited to start stitching.)

I will 100% be using DeSerres again to order embroidery floss for projects. It’s convenient, straight-forward, economical, and did I mention they have a Rewards Program!?!

Okay, I’m going to stop gushing now and get back to stitching four hues of taupe. Please let me know if you’ve found this post helpful, or if you know an embroidery thread supplier, or if you work for DeSerres & want to help a stitchin’ sister out.

Have a great weekend!

2 Comments on “DESERRES”

  1. […] was as best of time as any to share my recent experience of 123Stitch.com. I did a similar review of DeSerres, when I ordered thread for my first Christmas […]

  2. […] Central? What are your thoughts? Any other websites I should check out? I’ve already reviewed DeSerres & […]


Leave a Reply

