she's a threadhead

CHICKEN NOODLE

Ugh, I’m sick.

It happens every year. Somehow, mystical germs make their way into my body and suddenly, I can’t breathe. I end up sounding like someone on their deathbed, gasping for the last few precious moments of air. I lay around lethargic  during the day, too tired to lift my head and get a few hours of stitching in. At night, my lungs seize and I keep myself awake coughing. I can hear in my Mum’s voice in my memory, yelling at me to drink a glass of water. (Not that water helps with a chest infection, Mother.)

So, I do what any want-to-be-50’s-housewife does when cold + flu season hits. I make soup. Lots of it. Using my slow cooker, of course! chickensoup 1

Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe – E.A. Douglas, 2014

Chicken Noodle Soup dans la Mijoteuse
– 1 1/2 lbs chicken meat, either dark or white, bone & skin free
– 5 large carrots
– 8 sticks of celery (I know it seems like a lot, but I never use the rest of the celery when I make soup. So, my new routine is to buy a smaller amount and use the whole bunch.)
– 1 medium-sized yellow onion
– 4 cloves of garlic
– 3 tablespoons olive oil
– 8 cups of vegetable/chicken stock
– salt & pepper to taste
– parsley flakes
– 2 bay leaves
– 2 cups of pasta noodles

Drizzle olive oil on the bottom of your slow cooker. Fill the slow cooker with the diced carrots, celery, onion & garlic. Place the meat on top of the vegetables and sprinkle with salt, pepper, parsley flakes and bay leaves. Cover with soup stock and place on high for 5-6 hours. After cooking, remove chicken and bay leaves from slow cooker. Add pasta to the soup. Rid yourself of the bay leaves. Shred the chicken. After about twenty minutes the pasta will be done cooking, add the shredded chicken back to the slow cooker. Serve when it’s cooled, or else you might burn your tongue!

IMG_1381

It’s hearty and nourishing but, makes an incredible amount of food. When I’m cooking I turn into a homesteader from the 1800s with eleven mouths to feed. If you make this soup, be prepared to be feeding the neighborhood for a week and, be sure to let me know how it turns out.

I’m going to go rest up, have a great weekend!

2 Comments on “CHICKEN NOODLE”

  1. This is the first I’ve heard of anyone putting garlic in chicken noodle soup.


Leave a Reply

