she's a threadhead

MAGENTA MANTRA

lifeisvastMantra – E.A. Douglas, 2014

As many crafters and artists can confirm, be creative involves a significant amount of hoarding. It may be a stash of yarn, or fabric, old TTC transfers or bottle caps – we hold onto things which we think may come in useful in the future.

I’m delighted to inform you that this piece allowed me to work with an item I had been reserving for years. This small piece of burlap, was formerly the decorative coffee bag which was given to me as a souvenir from a friend’s cruise. I held onto it through four different apartments and at last it has been used. How satisfying! The thread used for this piece is cotton crewel thread, which my grandmother bestowed upon me in her regular fashion. This piece was also enjoyable to make, as it wasn’t charted out at all. I simply wrote on the fabric and played with some loose backstitches until I liked the look of it. Refreshing compared to my usual heavily charted stitch work.

A note on the text – “Life is vast” is a group mantra for some of my friends. It provides us with the opposite feeling of “life is short.” While life may feel short, it is the longest thing any person will experience, thus, there is no need to fret about the details – Will he text you back? Should I stay in school? How much should I worry about this job interview? – life is long enough that it will all come together eventually, so chill out and enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

