she's a threadhead

OTTAWA?

Currently, I am sitting in a dimly lit hotel room in Ottawa. It’s chilly outside, walking around today I received a pre-Halloween fright as it began to snow. But what can you do? You can’t get much more Canadian with snow in the Capital. That being said, the trip has not been as lovely of a time as I was expecting. Things don’t always turn out the way you planned. Still, I’d like to share yesterday’s trip to the National Gallery of Canada. My main reason for wanting to visit the NGC was to view the collection of Shary Boyle‘s work. Boyle is one of my favourite Canadian artists,  I’ve seen many of her pieces around Toronto (I’ve even seen her a few times, which has led to tourist like gawking on Queen St.) and I was really looking forward to seeing more of her work, particularly her drawings. To my dismay all of her work is in Venice for the Biennale. BUMMER. I should have just saved my pennies and gone to Italy for Fall Break!

wpid-IMAG1692.jpg

However, I did see this sculpture by Roxy Paine, is titled One Hundred Foot Line and stands outside the Gallery, on Nepean Point. It stands 100 ft tall and 4 ft wide, and has graced the Ottawa skyline since the Gallery purchased it in 2010. The spire is really quite a sight to see and blew me away each time I glanced at it while eating lunch. .

Leave a Reply

