she's a threadhead

SLOW COOKER

Today, I did something a little extreme.

It all started when I decided to move out of my apartment. The place is too small, and although I love them, the history with my current roommates is too long and drama-filled. I have secured myself a new home and new roommates for November 1st, but the place has one set back – okay two. First, there are nine folks living under one roof. With that many people it is understandable that dinner time will be insanity. To make it worse, the place has three kitchens – but one stove. Due to a complicated mess involving boarding houses and fire inspectors, the two stoves that went in the two other kitchens were removed. So, 9 people 1 stove. What’s a girl to do? This is where the extreme thing comes in. Today, I bought a slow cooker. I purchased one of the most hated appliances on the face of the Earth, because… I need something to cook in!

In all honesty, I am super excited about it. I spent a few hours over the long weekend scrolling through slow cooker recipes, there is a lot of variations on a lot of different types of food. I also love that you can “set it and forget it.” As a busy school girl, I really hate having to come home and cook. I would much rather have a meal already prepared – and thats where the joy of slow cooking comes in, put it on in the morning – come home from school – wham! Dinner is ready, and delicious. I did some browsing on craigslist last night, and found a barely used slow cooker for $20. After a short email exchange, I took the subway and was able to bring it home today.

Image

This is me and my lovely new crock pot waiting for the street car home. It was a little bit bigger than I expected, and as soon as I got it into the kitchen I realized I need to be using it at least once a week in order to make up for the amount of cupboard space it takes up. So, I went to shoppers and bought a bunch of tinned vegetables.

Image

Ta da! My very first batch of soup made in the slow cooker. It’s Taco Soup a delicious recipe that isn’t too healthy.

TACO SOUP
– 2 tins kidney beans
– 2 tins black beans
– 2 tins of corn
– 2 tins of diced tomatoes (even if you really don’t like tomatoes)
– 1 package of taco mix (I used Spring Valley, from the health food store)
– 1 package of guacamole mix – optional – (again, Spring Valley)

Set slow cooker to HIGH. Drain and rinse beans, add to slow cooker. Add entire contents of corn and tomato cans. Mix in packages of taco mix and guacamole mix. Leave be for 4 – 5 hours. To serve, let cool and add a dollop of sour cream and some shredded cheese. Enjoy with Tostito’s!

Leave a Reply

