she's a threadhead

RUTH WHITMAN

Image

 I didn’t buy this book from Eliot’s, but I thought about it. 

Ruth Whitman was a female, Jewish, American poet who passed away in 1999. Her life included M.I.T, Harvard, three husbands, a couple kids and writing. One of those people who seems to have done a lot of writing, yet isn’t really known for it. There isn’t a lot that I could find out about her, nor could I find that many of her poems. But, I did find this one. 

Round

I keep my clocks a little fast
so time won’t take me by surprise. 

Lest crows tread harshly round my eyes
I keep my clocks a little fast.

I push ahead the hands of past
before the future tints my hair.

I race the hours through the air
so time won’t take me by surprise.

Before the spider bygone dries
I cobble cobwebs on my last.

I keep my clocks a little fast
so time won’t take me by surprise.

Leave a Reply

